Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » User’s Questions & Discussions » Overclocking




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: So Stephan I got my build finished.
 Post Posted: July 20th, 2007, 12:08 am 
Offline

Joined: July 19th, 2007, 11:42 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Canada
I'll send over some pics and look forward to your suggestions :D


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 20th, 2007, 12:15 am 
Offline

Joined: July 19th, 2007, 11:42 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Canada
want to see if the signature works

_________________
QX6850(SWIFTECH GTX,BOWED AND HARDMOUNTED)/8800ULTRA SC SLI(SWIFTECH STEALTH BLOCKS)ASUS STIKER EXTREME (SWIFTECH MCW30(NB,SB ) kOOLANCE VOLTAGE REG BLOCKS)/CORSIAR 8888 4,4,4,12 2G/DUAL LOOP SWIFTECH 655 PUMPS /THERMOCHILL RADS/RAPTER 150 10K RAID ZERO(AQUA COMPUTER LIGUID BAYS)/SEAGATE 500 (DUAL BOOT SYSTEM XP PRO AND VISTA ULTIMATE) KILLER K1 NIC CARD,SILVERSTONE 1000W MAIN POWER,ULTRAPOWER 325W 5.25 BAY POWER FOR (PUMPS FANS AND LIGHTING)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 20th, 2007, 12:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 19th, 2007, 11:42 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Canada
So here's the rig.

Image[/img]

_________________
QX6850(SWIFTECH GTX,BOWED AND HARDMOUNTED)/8800ULTRA SC SLI(SWIFTECH STEALTH BLOCKS)ASUS STIKER EXTREME (SWIFTECH MCW30(NB,SB ) kOOLANCE VOLTAGE REG BLOCKS)/CORSIAR 8888 4,4,4,12 2G/DUAL LOOP SWIFTECH 655 PUMPS /THERMOCHILL RADS/RAPTER 150 10K RAID ZERO(AQUA COMPUTER LIGUID BAYS)/SEAGATE 500 (DUAL BOOT SYSTEM XP PRO AND VISTA ULTIMATE) KILLER K1 NIC CARD,SILVERSTONE 1000W MAIN POWER,ULTRAPOWER 325W 5.25 BAY POWER FOR (PUMPS FANS AND LIGHTING)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 20th, 2007, 3:31 pm 
 
That is one mean looking rig. :)

What speed does everything run at?

OPP


Top 
  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 20th, 2007, 10:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 19th, 2007, 11:42 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Canada
So far it is rock stable at 3.5 , multiplier set to 13 fsb left at 1066, memory at 642 timming is 5,5,5,13,19 2.4v , v core at 1.5v, nb at 1.5v. If I raise the fsb to 1125 and run the v core to 1.625 it runs a little over 3.6 posting a 3dmark06 of 18406. but my temps become unstable after that and cant do a second run. under that setting it idles in the high 47-49c range and then hits over 60 in load and it starts to clock back and will crash at the cpu test of 3d mark other than that it runs fine. my current temps at the 3.5 setting are 35 idle for the core system temp of 32 and cpu water temp of 34.

_________________
QX6850(SWIFTECH GTX,BOWED AND HARDMOUNTED)/8800ULTRA SC SLI(SWIFTECH STEALTH BLOCKS)ASUS STIKER EXTREME (SWIFTECH MCW30(NB,SB ) kOOLANCE VOLTAGE REG BLOCKS)/CORSIAR 8888 4,4,4,12 2G/DUAL LOOP SWIFTECH 655 PUMPS /THERMOCHILL RADS/RAPTER 150 10K RAID ZERO(AQUA COMPUTER LIGUID BAYS)/SEAGATE 500 (DUAL BOOT SYSTEM XP PRO AND VISTA ULTIMATE) KILLER K1 NIC CARD,SILVERSTONE 1000W MAIN POWER,ULTRAPOWER 325W 5.25 BAY POWER FOR (PUMPS FANS AND LIGHTING)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 21st, 2007, 10:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 24th, 2007, 4:35 pm
Posts: 258
Location: Lakewood, CA
=XE=GURU wrote:
So far it is rock stable at 3.5 , multiplier set to 13 fsb left at 1066, memory at 642 timming is 5,5,5,13,19 2.4v , v core at 1.5v, nb at 1.5v. If I raise the fsb to 1125 and run the v core to 1.625 it runs a little over 3.6 posting a 3dmark06 of 18406. but my temps become unstable after that and cant do a second run. under that setting it idles in the high 47-49c range and then hits over 60 in load and it starts to clock back and will crash at the cpu test of 3d mark other than that it runs fine. my current temps at the 3.5 setting are 35 idle for the core system temp of 32 and cpu water temp of 34.


These are my settings on my office workstation, running 24x7 - No need to say its fully stable - office is air cond at 74F

Temjin TJ07 case
Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus
QX6700ES (engineering sample) @ 3.6 Ghz - Apogee GTX
2900XT - MCW60 cooled - (anyone want to buy it, I am seeling it and going to replace it with an 8800 GTS - ATI drivers not stable enough in dual monitor mode)
4 Gb corsair @ 5-5-5-12-2T - Linked 1:1 (1039)
3 x 75 Gb Raptor in Raid 0
MCP655 - MCR320 with all fans runing at 5 volts


FSB 1109
Multiplier 13
VCore 1.475
Mem 2.2
1.2 VHT 1.4
NB 1.4
SB 1.65
All others on auto

disable CPU internal thermal control
disable CPUID
enable enhanced EI state
disable execute disable bit
enable virtualization technology
disable speedstep


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 21st, 2007, 10:48 am 
Offline

Joined: June 15th, 2007, 6:32 am
Posts: 257
Location: North Yorkshire, England
Quote:
These are my settings on my office workstation, running 24x7 - No need to say its fully stable - office is air cond at 74F

Temjin TJ07 case
Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus
QX6700ES (engineering sample) @ 3.6 Ghz - Apogee GTX
2900XT - MCW60 cooled - (anyone want to buy it, I am seeling it and going to replace it with an 8800 GTS - ATI drivers not stable enough in dual monitor mode)
4 Gb corsair @ 5-5-5-12-2T - Linked 1:1 (1039)
3 x 75 Gb Raptor in Raid 0
MCP655 - MCR320 with all fans runing at 5 volts


FSB 1109
Multiplier 13
VCore 1.475
Mem 2.2
1.2 VHT 1.4
NB 1.4
SB 1.65
All others on auto

disable CPU internal thermal control
disable CPUID
enable enhanced EI state
disable execute disable bit
enable virtualization technology
disable speedstep


when you say your memory is linked 1:1 is that with the cpu fsb?? i could never get mine to run 1:1 linked.

_________________
Core 2 Quad QX6700 @ 3.60Ghz : Team Xtreem 2x1GB 1300MHz CL 5-5-5-15 :
Asus Striker Extreme : 2 x BFG 8800 GTX OC WC : Custom Watercooling :
Western Digital Raptor 150GB : X3 1000w PSU : Cooler Master Stacker


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 21st, 2007, 11:54 am 
Offline

Joined: July 19th, 2007, 11:42 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Canada
I'd love to talk to you a little about some of those settings. ie the south bridge voltages and removal of the cpu thermal control and such in more detail. I think that is my road block to running this thing further.

_________________
QX6850(SWIFTECH GTX,BOWED AND HARDMOUNTED)/8800ULTRA SC SLI(SWIFTECH STEALTH BLOCKS)ASUS STIKER EXTREME (SWIFTECH MCW30(NB,SB ) kOOLANCE VOLTAGE REG BLOCKS)/CORSIAR 8888 4,4,4,12 2G/DUAL LOOP SWIFTECH 655 PUMPS /THERMOCHILL RADS/RAPTER 150 10K RAID ZERO(AQUA COMPUTER LIGUID BAYS)/SEAGATE 500 (DUAL BOOT SYSTEM XP PRO AND VISTA ULTIMATE) KILLER K1 NIC CARD,SILVERSTONE 1000W MAIN POWER,ULTRAPOWER 325W 5.25 BAY POWER FOR (PUMPS FANS AND LIGHTING)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 21st, 2007, 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 15th, 2007, 6:32 am
Posts: 257
Location: North Yorkshire, England
i heard somewhere that you dont really need to up the voltage on the southbridge unless your overclocking the graphics cards is that true? coz i can get my pc overclocked to 3.6 by keeping the SB on auto.

_________________
Core 2 Quad QX6700 @ 3.60Ghz : Team Xtreem 2x1GB 1300MHz CL 5-5-5-15 :
Asus Striker Extreme : 2 x BFG 8800 GTX OC WC : Custom Watercooling :
Western Digital Raptor 150GB : X3 1000w PSU : Cooler Master Stacker


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 21st, 2007, 2:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 24th, 2007, 4:35 pm
Posts: 258
Location: Lakewood, CA
=XE=GURU wrote:
I'd love to talk to you a little about some of those settings. ie the south bridge voltages and removal of the cpu thermal control and such in more detail. I think that is my road block to running this thing further.


SB might be leftover from various trials, I wouldn't read too much into it now. CPU voltage on the other hand is the fruit of long trial and error testing.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: July 21st, 2007, 2:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 24th, 2007, 4:35 pm
Posts: 258
Location: Lakewood, CA
IceMan2k wrote:
when you say your memory is linked 1:1 is that with the cpu fsb?? i could never get mine to run 1:1 linked.


I have it set linked at 1:1 but for some reason it still drops to 1039.. go figure :-(


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: August 9th, 2007, 9:12 am 
Offline

Joined: July 19th, 2007, 11:42 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Canada
So after a couple of phone calls to swiftech , Gabe is such a realist . I was willing to throw a grand at building a peltier water chiller but he talked me out of it for now. I'm going to fine tune my water setup to gain a few degrees. First changing out the thermaltake p5 pumps which are 500 lph to swiftech 655 1200 lph. Going to 1/2'" line from 3/8" on the CPU loop. Adding the Hard mount kit instead of the spring for my GTX and adding the new O ring to bow it. I have a single thermochill PA 120.2 for this loop with the two silenx 120mm fans which are supposed to be 72cfm at 14db. Well after Gabe called BS on the fan measurments I decided to test them. I do loudspeaker testing and have test equipment for spl levels to .1 db. I first measured the fan by itself at 12v free standing and got a rather dissapointing 26.2 db. (measured at 3ft)To be fair I then mounted the fan to a thermochill rad with its foam gasket and equally tightend the screws for a snug fit. HMMMM sound level now droped to 19.6 db (seems like a resonance was being created by the fan housing when running free air. As to the cfm rated it did fall short of claim to 58 cfm using a displacement smoke chamber but still pretty good specs considering the low db I was able to get. So I will do some temp tests on the rad by adding a second set of fans to the back side of rad to create a push/pull configuration. I know I could increase to performance of the rad by putting true 92 cfm fans on the rad but these silenx are rather pretty and I may just have to give up some cfm for the sake of noise. I also found out that my north bridge temps are sky high literally turning the heat pipes on my striker extreme black this is really a problem with my particular setup because when water cooling the cpu (not having the 5000rpm monster fan to help aid the cooling of the heat pipes) you are supposed to use the small downflow fans on both north and south bridge. I had room for the south bridge one but not the north only the air flow comming from the side from the 120mm fan at front of case. Proves not to be good enough. No dispair though as ASUS RMA'd my MB and is sending out a new MB. They were quite helpfull in tech support as well discussing their new blitz extream mb which has water cooling added to nb/sb but alas it uses the p35 intel and not the 680i which I require for my video. But they gave me the nod to remove the heat pipes and add a watercooling setup to my MB. So I'll have to give another call to the swiftech boys on this one LOL.
PS Gabe if you read this I also got to thinking about what you said in regard to maybe having a poor QX6700 with regards to overclocking and took that $1000.00 I was going to give you for that chiller box and ordered a QX6850 which I'll lap and throw into my bad boy. (I'm still going to run temp tests after the mods with the 6700 just to make sure I don't have a dif variable added from the chip sets)

_________________
QX6850(SWIFTECH GTX,BOWED AND HARDMOUNTED)/8800ULTRA SC SLI(SWIFTECH STEALTH BLOCKS)ASUS STIKER EXTREME (SWIFTECH MCW30(NB,SB ) kOOLANCE VOLTAGE REG BLOCKS)/CORSIAR 8888 4,4,4,12 2G/DUAL LOOP SWIFTECH 655 PUMPS /THERMOCHILL RADS/RAPTER 150 10K RAID ZERO(AQUA COMPUTER LIGUID BAYS)/SEAGATE 500 (DUAL BOOT SYSTEM XP PRO AND VISTA ULTIMATE) KILLER K1 NIC CARD,SILVERSTONE 1000W MAIN POWER,ULTRAPOWER 325W 5.25 BAY POWER FOR (PUMPS FANS AND LIGHTING)


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: August 26th, 2007, 1:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: August 20th, 2007, 1:47 am
Posts: 34
phasechange with wc for all others? ;P

it'd be easy to reuse an old heatsink/fan and a cpu block with a pelt to drop the temps imo


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Board index » User’s Questions & Discussions » Overclocking


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: