Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » User’s Questions & Discussions » TEC Cooling




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Compatibility Question
 Post Posted: November 14th, 2007, 3:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2007, 11:53 am
Posts: 3
I currently run a Quad Core/SLI loop (D5 Vario to MCR320-Apogee GTX-MCW30-120 Dual Pass- 8800GTX Stealth-8800 GTX Stealth-res).

Could I put the MCW-6500T in the existing loop? Would it provide any benefit?

Have a Galaxy 1000w in the system, so power should be fine. Normal daily use with the E6600 at 3.6, maybe a little more OC in the future. Any help appreciated.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: November 14th, 2007, 3:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 20th, 2007, 10:16 pm
Posts: 873
Location: Long Beach, CA
:idea: what CPU are you running?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: November 14th, 2007, 3:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2007, 11:53 am
Posts: 3
Sorry, typod in the post!

Q6600 G0, currently running at 3.6 on the Apogee GTX.

Regards.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: November 14th, 2007, 4:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 20th, 2007, 10:16 pm
Posts: 873
Location: Long Beach, CA
If you're mainly gaming (I've seen you're doing SLI) or if you are not stressing your CPU too much, you would get better temperatures with the MCW6500-T. But when it comes to high CPU heat load you might not see too much of an improvement with a TEC waterblock.

In any case, I think you just have enough radiators in the loop for the additional heat. When it comes to this kind of total heat load, you can consider doing a second loop to separate CPU from GPUs.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: November 14th, 2007, 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 16th, 2007, 11:53 am
Posts: 3
Thanks. That really gets to my main issue. Add the TEC in the existing loop or run isolated CPU/GPU loops.

You stated that under high CPU heat load I would not see much of an improvement. That would lead me to believe that it should be *as good* or nominally better than the existing loop. I read that the 226w was quite possibly not enough for quads to begin with, so that was why I asked.

In a strange world where a $150 CPU block was immaterial, would I run any risk of making my temps worse if I decided to do it anyway?


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: November 14th, 2007, 11:42 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 20th, 2007, 10:16 pm
Posts: 873
Location: Long Beach, CA
if you keep one single loop your GPU temps will be higher (higher water temperature). The CPU will most likely be cooler though (this is the case for most people = the CPU is not 100% stressed all day long).


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: November 15th, 2007, 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: July 14th, 2007, 10:42 pm
Posts: 21
What about replacing the TEC with a larger unit, say, a 325W? I've been considering this after I replace my MCR220 with an MCR320. I've got an X2 3800+ (939) @ 2750Mhz, 1.52Vcore (which I hope to be able to drop), ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe mobo and a pair of OC'ed 7950GT's plumbed into the loop using MCW60's. I've also got a single pass single 120 rad plumbed into the loop.

I'm not worried about the heat dump from the TEC, my 7950's run at 33C and 39C under load as it stands now. I figure that the added fan and surface area on the 320 should help keep them under 45C at load with the TEC cooler installed. I'm just curious if the block can cope with the added 90W load from the TEC.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: November 15th, 2007, 4:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 20th, 2007, 10:16 pm
Posts: 873
Location: Long Beach, CA
the 6500-T base plate would handle this :)


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

Board index » User’s Questions & Discussions » TEC Cooling


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: