Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » User’s Questions & Discussions » Liquid Cooling




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Adding GPU Loop to H320 X2
 Post Posted: May 14th, 2016, 10:20 am 
Offline

Joined: May 14th, 2016, 10:01 am
Posts: 3
Hello, I recently purchased and installed the above mentioned AIO liquid cooling system. However, I'd like to expand the loop to my 980 GPU. I only have three questions/concerns.

1) There isn't a need to cut any of the existing tubing right? I can run from pump, to CPU, CPU to GPU (the only additional tubing needed), and GPU to reservoir (using the original tubing provided)? Am I over simplifying this or will that loop work with minimal effort?

2) There isn't a need to drain the entire system right? The pump is mounted midway, vertically, on the reservoir so the chances of losing the prime is slim? I will remove the reservoir/radiator and block from the system, keep the pump/reservoir lower that the CPU block at all times, and make my adjustments without compromising the pump's prime.

3) Does it matter if I run the loop to the CPU or GPU first? If I run it to the CPU (assuming I understand the flow path correctly), it seems that will be the path of least resistance (and work).

Obviously this is the first time I will be attempting anything like this, so any constructive criticism and or feedback is appreciated!


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding GPU Loop to H320 X2
 Post Posted: June 4th, 2016, 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: May 14th, 2016, 10:01 am
Posts: 3
So I figured I'd respond to my own post in hopes that it may help someone else in the future. I took a chance and modified my H320 to include a GPU loop (980 TI).

1) I wouldn't have had to remove either of the stock tubes, but I opted to go with a smaller inside diameter tubing to reduce drag. I also wanted to reduce the amount of tubing the H320 came with to again, reduce drag.

2) Contrary to what I wanted to do (not drain the system), I drained the entire system anyway. The location of the pump (if in the vertical position) is convenient for filling the loop once installed, via gravity, and during first boot.

3) Running the loop to my CPU first, then GPU seems to be working well. I have an 8 core AMD, 4.0 ghz, oc'd to 4.5 ghz running at 10 degrees celcius (no load) and the 980 ti is overclocked to 1400 MHz running at 30 degrees celcius (no load).

Hope this helps someone down the road.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Adding GPU Loop to H320 X2
 Post Posted: July 23rd, 2016, 11:23 am 
Offline

Joined: February 2nd, 2016, 5:36 pm
Posts: 20
https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/56 ... nt-7463487

hope that post helps


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

Board index » User’s Questions & Discussions » Liquid Cooling


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: