Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Swiftech Communications » Technical Bulletins




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Apogee XT issue with Gigabyte boards
 Post Posted: October 8th, 2009, 9:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: January 24th, 2007, 4:35 pm
Posts: 258
Location: Lakewood, CA
Technical bulletin:

ISSUE:

We have just uncovered an interference issue with Gigabyte boards socket 1366, X58 chipset; the model numbers are: GA-EX58-EXTREME, GA-EX58-UD3R GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI, GA-EX58-UD4P and GA-EX58-UD5.

PROBLEM DESCRIPTION:

All these boards feature a group of caps located flush with the CPU socket (left hand side , between socket and I/O ports).

The edge of the Apogee XT copper base plate is slightly interfering with these caps by a few tenth of a millimeter. This may prevent proper installation, and could cause damage to the board.

OTHER MAKES AND MODELS:

In our best knowledge, the issue is STRICTLY limited to the above mentioned Gigabyte models, and does not affect ANY other models or brands at this time.

RESOLUTION:

We are in the process of implementing a fix for this, consisting in adding a chamfer to the Apogee XT base plate that will provide sufficient clearance for these caps. Validation of the solution will be finalized by Monday October 12th. All Apogee XT blocks will subsequently receive the revision.

Early adopters of the Apogee XT and owners of the Gigabyte boards are advised of the following:

While it has been reported to us that it is possible to carefully mount the block by gently nudging the caps to the left while mating the block to the CPU, we do not recommend using the Apogee XT with these boards until a revision to the base plate has been implemented.

Users can either return their block to the point of purchase for a full refund, or send us back their block directly for an immediate revision. All efforts will be made to maintain a turnaround time of 24 hours.

Please contact Michelle@swiftech.com if you have the above issue.

We do apologize for the inconvenience.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
 Post Posted: March 29th, 2010, 6:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 4th, 2007, 5:58 pm
Posts: 6
I just had a different problem with my Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD5 board and the Apogee XT.

By posting hopefully someone can be saved the 2 weeks of RMA's that I was.

My issue was not all my ram would show up at cold boot.

Solution: back off the clamping screws of the apogee about 3/4th's a turn each.

I had a great conversation with the Swiftech tech support informing them about my situation and he had great ideas why this was happening.

One of two things could have happened but I attribute both to the fact that the Gigabyte board is twice the thickness of a regular Printed Circuit Board.

1. The added thickness interferes with the screw and the traces of the mobo grounding something out.

2. The added thickness adds to the clamping force perhaps bending the socket.


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

Board index » Swiftech Communications » Technical Bulletins


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron